Testimonials/reviews

On this page you’ll find testimonials from some of my clients. Mr Chris Wood (bassist for Mark Hill a.k.a. Artful (from Artful Dodger/Craig David fame, Archiw Bell, Glenn Jones to name but a few) was kind enough to write this testimonial after some recent work that I did for him:

“As a pro bassist with 28 years experience, I’m pretty comfortable with maintaining and setting up my instruments. However, just recently I’ve struggled to get them to play exactly how I want them. I was aware of Tonefinder and Rich is local to me, so I decided to let him loose on my number 1 bass to see what he could do.

The results far exceed my expectations and my bass now plays better than it has for a long time!! Rich explained every detail of what he had done and made sure I was completely happy with his work.

Happy would be an understatement! I’m ecstatic with the service I received and Rich was even happy to comply with my strict deadline request.

Tonefinder, Chris Wood, Overwater
Chris Wood with his newly set up Overwater J5 – Picture courtesy of Dielle Hannah

 

I have 6 more basses that will be getting the Tonefinder treatment as soon as possible and I look forward to a long relationship with Rich and Tonefinder.

Chris Wood

Artful
Archie Bell
Glenn Jones
The Lovetown Allstars”

Thanks Chris, You’ve encapsulated exactly what Tonefinder is all about! You can check out Chris’ website here and he’s even written a blog post about his first experience with Tonefinder.

Below are more customer testimonials and reviews of work that they’ve had carried out at Tonefinder. Please feel free to contact me if you have any questions etc.

 

“You have made a good guitar great!”

Hi Rich

I have played gigs with both my bands since you set up my Jazz and have received numerous compliments on the tone I am now getting. You have made a good guitar great!

Looking forward to bringing the Jazz in again in a few months for some more TLC.

Best wishes

Nick

Nick R Fender Jazz 23rd April 2015

“You weaved your magic and now it sings…”

Hi Rich, I just wanted say how lucky it was to find you for the rewire, coil wind and set up of my son Andy's old Audition hollowbody guitar.

I really thought we'd seen the last of it until we stumbled across you on Google purely by chance. What a lucky break. You understood exactly what we wanted and were honest about what could expect within a fairly tight budget.

You rewound the dead coil to perfection, completely rewired the electrics, saved the original pots  (important) and managed to fit a new bridge where the previous owner had glued and screwed the old one.

Now, why was it important to reuse as many of the 1970's parts as possible from such a budget guitar? Well, before it fell apart it sounded great and was Andy's pride and joy, like a third arm. When it "died" he thought he had lost that lovely tone forever. You said reusing parts rather than buying new would help keep that original tone. To be honest, I don't know anything about guitars and I thought perhaps you were just trying to keep the cost down for us...but when he played it, it was like getting an old friend back.

It sounds great again and with a bit of care will stay sounding great for another 40+ years. You weaved your magic and now it sings like the beautiful old girl it is.

Top bloke, highly recommended.

Cheers,

Gary

Gary Y Southampton Pickup rewind, complete rewire & setup 17th December 2015

“Just wanted to say thanks” – Les Paul & two Strats

I worked on a number of guitars for Nick recently including a Les Paul and two very nice Strats. Here's what he had to say.

"Hi Rich,

I thought while I had time at work, I would send you a review of the magnificent work you have done on three of my guitars!
 
The first one I took over was my good old Gibson and I didn't realize how low the bridge pickup was. Rich kept me posted all of the way and explained to me what had happened. This ended up being one satisfied man as he resolved all the issues and did a setup as well.
 
The second one - My MIM. This has got my Lace Sensors in them and they never sounded right from day one. I always said that switch 2 and 4 were too quiet and was never happy with them. So I thought, I know I'll take it to Rich and see what he says. Well children..... I am glad I did.
 
The pots / lugs were busted the intonation was out and it came back a different guitar.
 
And finally just invested in a new AM Standard Stratocaster which is just the most beautiful instrument I have ever played/owned. And yes Rich set this up for me also.
 
In all fairness I am so glad I have met the man, I could honestly say there isn't anyone I can think of that could do this at such good prices.
 
Thanks  Rich.
 
PS: I will be in touch to sort new PUPS and a Pedal
 
Kind regards,
 
Nick"

Nick D 31st March 2016

“plays like a dream” – Epiphone 335 Dot

It's in very, very good condition, plays like a dream. Very similar action to my Les Paul, but when I finally plugged it in (trying not to wake the neighbours!) it came alive, great sound to it. Very, very happy with it

Alex London 9th December 2013

“Superb set up and now plays like a dream” – Fender “Jerry Donahue” Signature Telecaster

Just got my JD Tele back from a complete refret. Fantastic job Rich. Really pleased with it. Superb set up and now plays like a dream. Great job thanks.

Martin D Eastleigh 16th December 2013

Huge thanks!! – Tonefinder

Huge thanks to Rich from Tonefinder for helping me get my new guitar sorted. I thought there were big problems with it but it turns out it only needed a good setup. It's now playing like a dream. Thanks Rich!

P from Cosham Portsmouth 8th October 2013

Definitely coming back to you with my two Strats next!

Just got to say a huge thanks to Rich for the superb fret-dress on my Epiphone SG. Not only did he do a graduated fall away from the 12th fret upwards like I asked, but went on from a 13" radius into a flatter 14" for an incredible playground up the dusty end. Definitely coming back to you with my two Strats next!

Peter G Southampton 8th July 2014

Great service – Tonefinder

I had an issue with a few frets that had worn (and one that was lifting). Richard was able to sort the whole fretboard out for me quickly and without hurting my wallet.

I also asked him to perform a full set up on my guitar (2002 Fender Stratocaster) and I must say that it's never played better.

I can't recommend Richard at Tonefinder enough. Fantastic service. Double A*!

Dave T Petersfield 8th October 2013

“it makes my Ibanez AS93 feel almost unplayable!” – Fender Stratocaster

Mark got himself a very nice Olympic White Fender Stratocaster but it needed a good setup and fret level. After trying my gigging Strat, Mark asked for the 'greasebucket' wiring and a set of my 'Reverend' pickups to be installed. Here's what he had to say:

"Hi Rich, I've had a chance to really try the Strat out and the only problem is it makes my Ibanez AS93 feel almost unplayable! Love it, plays and sounds amazing. Mark"

Mark Hampshire 1st May 2014

‘The Reverend’ – Single coil pickup

“The set of ‘The Reverend’ pickups Rich installed in my Tokai strat has completely transformed it from a decent guitar into a tone monster! The higher output single coils have more bite and definition whilst still giving the distinctive strat tone that I was looking for.  I mainly play blues so these suit me perfectly for that SRV sound but the clean tone of these pickups is fantastic – think ‘Coming Back to Life’ by Pink Floyd.  They also give me a much wider range of tonal options and I’m even converted to liking the middle pickup on it’s own!

Having already had a complete refret and ‘Greasebucket’ rewire on my Tokai from Tonefinder, adding these pickups has left me with a guitar that absolutely sings!
Cheers Rich!”

Chris H Southampton 24th March 2014

The “TFC” – Single coil pickup

"The TFC pickups I tried out for Rich were a very pleasant surprise indeed. Each had a well rounded and defined tone that responded really well to all the styles of music that I play. The neck and middle pickups both had a warmth about them without losing their clarity and 'glass' and the bridge pickup was, although bright and attacking, not too over-zealous and would certainly suit those looking for a sharp sound for their solos, helping them cut through the mix. In fact these pickups were so good I'm not giving them back. Sorry Rich!"

Mike W Cosham 24th March 2014

“Wowza!!!” – Squire 5-String Jazz bass

Wowza!!! Feck, what a playable bass. Thanks again, nice jobbie.

Peter G Southampton 7th January 2014

“you clearly have a passion for what you do” – Craig F

Hi Rich,

Just wanted to thank you for the work you’ve done for me lately, you clearly have a passion for what you do, and a work ethic that compels you to give the best service possible coupled with very competitive pricing makes you my first choice for any work I need done.

The Boss DS-1 upgrade/mod you did took the pedal to new highs plus giving it incredible lows, making it the most versatile pedal in my arsenal. You’ve obviously have a great ear and knowledge of products.

You’ll be the first person I call when I need anything else done and I’ll happily recommend your services to all of my musician friends.

Thanks again,
Craig.

Craig F Boss DS-1 Mod plus other work 15th May 2016

“The results far exceed my expectations” – Chris W

As a pro bassist with 28 years experience, I'm pretty comfortable with maintaining and setting up my instruments. However, just recently I've struggled to get them to play exactly how I want them. I was aware of Tonefinder and Rich is local to me, so I decided to let him loose on my number 1 bass to see what he could do.

The results far exceed my expectations and my bass now plays better than it has for a long time!! Rich explained every detail of what he had done and made sure I was completely happy with his work.

Happy would be an understatement! I'm ecstatic with the service I received and Rich was even happy to comply with my strict deadline request.

I have 6 more basses that will be getting the Tonefinder treatment as soon as possible and I look forward to a long relationship with Rich and Tonefinder.

Chris Wood

Artful
Archie Bell
Glenn Jones
The Lovetown Allstars

http://chriswoodbass.com/

 

Update - Chris has written a fantastic post over on his website about the work he's had done at Tonefinder. Head here to read more. Thanks Chris.

Chris Wood Session musician and teacher 24th July 2015

“A very satisfied customer” – David Gilmour pickups

Thanks a lot Rich, the David Gilmour pickup look and sound really great . I really like the quality of workmanship on the wiring, it is also nice to see good quality parts presented in such a nice way . Thanks a lot for your help, I will definitely be getting in touch again.

Thanks again for a first class job and giving a much loved guitar a lovely new rich (no pun intended) tone.

Speak soon,

A very satisfied customer,

Nic

Nic P David Gilmour pickups and wiring loom 16th May 2016

The Ol’ Quacker – Single coil pickup

“Well……They’re bright and chimney, clear and precise, and they make the (brand name removed) pickup sound like cheap sh*t. Well done!”

Pete G Holbury 24th March 2014

“nothing short of magnificent” – Andy P, Fender FR50

I accidentally came across Richard Setford and Tonefinder while searching on line for a used resonator guitar in late 2015.  Little did I realise at the time that I had found the true master guitar “fettler”!
The Fender FR50 he prepared for me, to my requirements, is nothing short of magnificent!  Richard changed the setup completely from a conventional setup to lap-slide configuration with raised nut and at a fantastic price.
I think Rich takes more pride in his workmanship than making a living out of his work, as it seems more of a labour of love and passion for workmanship than making a living.
As soon as my son mentioned he was after a used but nice electric blues guitar, I had no hesitation in contacting Rich for this next challenge.  And of course, he has done us proud once more, finding then “fettling” a previously unloved Tokai with the usual Tonefinder imagination and skill, replacing inferior components with new refinements, creating another work of art.
I can not praise him enough and have no hesitation in recommending Tonefinder for all things guitar-like!

Andy P Leeds Fender FR50 and Tokai Goldstar Sounds Strat 31st January 2016

“I am more than impressed…” – Custom pickups

Wayne B asked me to make some custom spec humbucker pickups for him. Here's what he had to say about them:

"I gave Rich a brief of what I wanted and he more than delivered.

I had only had my Epiphone Les Paul for 4 days when I delivered it to Rich for him to make a set of Humbuckers based upon the ones Peter Green/Gary Moore famous old Gibson.

And I am more than impressed with Rich's take on them. Not only are they as clear as a bell they are also tonally amazing but they sing for days. Rich also made them coil tappable for added versatility.

And I am very hard to please as anyone who knows me will tell you.

So if you are still searching for sonic Aural pleasure then stop reading this and contact Rich.....I personally guarantee you will not regret it."

Wayne B Petersfield 8th January 2015

“A truly remarkable service at an outstanding price!”

There is always that nagging feeling when you buy a piece of second hand guitar gear that, although you may have got a killer deal, it just isn't performing as it should. For me this feeling was compounded when I purchased a Marshall JCM900 SLX and after 2 practises the input socket had begun to fail and it just didn't seem to be producing the power you would expect of a 100watt valve amp.

In a bid to rectify any problems I was pointed in Rich’s direction by my father whom had recently had a Hank Marvin Burns expertly set up by Rich. A quick phone call later and within the hour I had taken my amp to Rich to discuss possible problems and subsequent options. It was decided the best way forward was to service the amp, replace the jack and re-valve the amp.

After leaving the amp with Rich I received a phone call a few hours later, thats when the panic set in… Has something else gone wrong? But my panic was misplaced, the SLX is somewhat of a unique beast and Rich had phoned to say he had done some research and talked to other techs regarding my amp and suggested the use of a different brand of valve to ensure I got the high gain results I wanted, advising me of the difference between the original choice of valves and the new one.

A week later and I’ve got my SLX back and I couldn’t be happier. It is a completely different beast than when I dropped it off and is everything I had originally hoped it would be! It sounds fantastic and the level of care that went into the work is unquestionable. It’s also great to be kept up to date by Rich’s tracking system which allowed me to know what and when was going on with my amp.

A truly remarkable service at an outstanding price! Thanks Rich!

Luke V

Lonely Dakota

Luke V Marshall JCM900 SL-X service and revalve 6th April 2016

“an instrument that’s now a dream to play” – Ibanez electro-acoustic

Big Thank you to Rich of Tone Finder for setting up my guitar, turning a mid range cheap guitar into an instrument that's now a dream to play, even my bad playing is easier and a pleasure to listen too. If you're looking for a guitar revamp at a more than reasonable price go to www.tonefinder.net Thanx Richard.

Mark W Havant 20th February 2014

“It’s like having a brand new guitar” – Patrick C

Just got my Tele Cabronita back after having it set up by Richard. It plays and sounds fantastic. It's like having a brand new guitar and I can't wait to gig with it next week. I can't recommend Tonefinder enough. Big thanks!

Patrick C Fender Telecaster Cabronita 31st January 2016

Really good service at a really reasonable price! – Gibson LPJ

I recently bought a fairly low end Gibson new. It came with a few issues in that it just didn't feel right. I contacted Rich after finding his website. He came over, checked out my guitar and we had had a good chat about what I wanted or expected etc.

We decided on a full setup and fret level. Once I got my guitar back it was more than expected!! It plays much more cleanly, the frets are amazing, bending is so much smoother and the intonation is spot on!

Really good service at a really reasonable price!!!

Cheers Rich

Ben L Southampton 23rd March 2014

“I can thoroughly recommend this guy” – Brian P, Havant

I can thoroughly recommend this guy

He can certainly turn your guitar into something special.

He can make a Mexican strat sound as good if not better than a USA one and I believe it.

Brian P

Brian P Havant 9th October 2014

“YOU ARE THE F*CKING PICKUP MASTER”

Martin D had me make a set of Peter Green humbuckers for him. Here's what he had to say after he got is guitar back from having the pickup set fitted.

Hi just got my guitar back with your pick ups in. YOU ARE THE FUCKING PICK UP MASTER! The clarity is amazing, so happy with them. The guitar always looked good now it sounds even better. My brother poo-poo'ed the idea, wait while he comes round I'm gonna bust his mother loving ear drums! I will be championing your wares to anyone who will listen to me, thanks matey.

Martin D Peter Green Humbucker pickups 29th August 2015

“unbeatable value” – Tonefinder PAF Style Humbuckers

I received this testimonial from a very good client of mine called Mike. He was looking for a tone he'd been unable to find elsewhere and I felt he was almost at a point of giving up. The Gibson Les Paul he brought to me was a great guitar to start with but I could certainly tell where Mike was coming from when he said that it was lacking the sound he was after.

Well, after a bit of work on my part, Mike picked up his guitar. I think it's safe to say, from his testimonial below, that he's found what he's been looking for.

[caption id="attachment_1065" align="aligncenter" width="826"]Testimonial from Mike F for Tonefinder PAF style Humbuckers Testimonial from Mike F for Tonefinder PAF style Humbuckers[/caption]

 

Mike F Emsworth Tonefinder PAF Style Humbuckers 14th February 2016

New life from an old strat – Tonefinder

A recently purchased 2011 Fender (Mexican) Strat was bothering me. The bridge pickup was too shrill and the tone controls just made it sound muddy at best. I've known Rich for a few years so sought his advice.

We discussed the many options available and he showed me his own personal Strat that he uses live. The difference in tone was incredible yet he had still retained that strat sound. After trying his guitar for a short while I knew that was exactly what I was after so asked him to perform the work on mine.

After some new pickups, new pots and new wiring I was expecting a huge bill but was really surprised at how cheap all the work had cost. In fact I paid him a little bit extra because I didn't think it was enough. Honest!

Rich really knows his onions when it comes to tone and guitar setups. I'll certainly be taking my other guitars back to him over time.

Thanks Rich!

Steve J Portsmouth 8th October 2013

“exceptionally skilled man!” – Peter Green spec humbuckers

I have been playing Les Paul's for over 30 years and when I asked Rich to make me a set of humbuckers to Peter Green spec I thought I would get a reasonable set. They have transformed my Les Paul into the best I could ever imagine!

I have a large guitar collection but along with a Strat with a John Mayer set of pickups, made again by Rich, these are my main guitars. I play now in the Hop Back Blues Band that I have been running for the last 25 years.

Unbeleivable exceptionally skilled man!

A lucky chance to have been given his phone number.

Thanks for everything.

Regards,

Pete

Pete S Amesbury 19th January 2015

“the work you did on my Epiphone LP has just transformed it!” – Epiphone Les Paul Standard

"Hi Rich, just wanted to let you know the work you did on my Epiphone LP has just transformed it! Taken to a couple of practices, just so much more usable. Any bad sounds are now down to my fingers...

Roger S 31st July 2015

“The playability is perfect” – Fender Stratocaster

Rich has recently upgraded the wiring, pickups, frets and setup of my standard Mexican Stratocaster. He also suggested some alterations and changes which might suit me, so that the whole process was specifically tailored to my requirements as a player. He has done such a good job that it stands up to any Strat I've ever played - if I bought an American Standard Strat this good I really would be delighted.

The playability is perfect. The tone that the hand wound 'Reverend' pickups that Rich made and installed have given he guitar is fantastic. The Reverends are responsive and just sparkle like single coils should, they also give tone distinction across the pickup selection range which allows for loads of versatility.

It's clear that Rich not only has a real skill for setting up a guitar and a great ear, but also has very exacting standards for what he does.

Mark Davison

Mark D Hampshire 29th May 2014

“….everything about it is great, both looks and sound” – Upgraded Squire Stratocaster

Richard from Luton recently purchased an upgraded Squire Stratocaster from Tonefinder - "....everything about it is great, both looks and sound. Thank you for sending it so well wrapped and so quickly.
All the best and thanks again"

Richard Luton 5th November 2013

“Fan…tabu…lous…” – Custom wound single coil pickup

Absolutely fan...tabulous.
My bands ‘engine room’ boys (bass & drums) both commented on the s-m-o-o-t-h tone tonight.
Very pleased in all depts. clean, overdriven and all selections, though middle pickup was very ‘lush’.

Dave D Locks Heath 31st March 2014

“I have to say….You’re an absolute genius” – Custom pickups

"I spent a number of months searching the net for a set of John Mayer signature pickups as over many years of session work, his sound was one I couldn't achieve.
I contacted Rich a few months ago with what I wanted and I left him to his work and I wasn't disappointed. The pickups themselves I can't find a single fault with. They have a very warm mid but keep the springy sound of my Fender Strat so they're perfect for what I wanted. They have an amazing clean sound but they really achieve the ultimate blues tone with a bit of gain. Rich knows what he's doing and does it well, I would recommend Tonefinder to anyone looking for the perfect tone."

Sion Cardiff 6th August 2014

“I found your service to be exemplary in every way”

I would like to thank you for the works carried out on my guitar, I found  your service to be exemplary in every way My guitar sounds so much better now and feels easier to play. I will readily recommend your services  knowing that they will be first class.

Many thanks.

Regards,

Derek G

Derek G Acoustic guitar 'gold' setup 21st June 2016